UTS School of Computing and Creative Media

Young Innovators Challenge (YIC) Programme 2020

Date: 1st March to 15th October 2020

Venue: Zoom & online website platforms

The School of Computing and Creative Media (SCM), UCTS had successfully supported online Train-The-Teachers (TTT) and challenge competition in partnership with Chumbaka Sibu, conducted virtually on online platforms. With the Digital Maker Movement gaining grounds, this year’s event saw a larger turnout of student mentors and teachers from over 22 participating schools from Sibu and all around Sibu (e.g. Sibu Jaya, Sarikei, Kanowit, Mukah, Kapit, Betong, Engkili and Julau).

Due to COVID-19 pandemic, YIC programme was shifted from physical to online platforms. We started off with TTT during the MCO lockdown in April and May 2020. TTT programme prepared the teachers and student mentors from UCTS to train students from their respective schools for the Young Innovators Challenge Competition from 1st July to 15th October 2020. Three modules were completed in the online training workshops: YIC & Design Thinking, Self-Directed Learning and Introduction to Arduino. Throughout the TTT, the participants learnt about coding and how to programme their Arduino microchips. They were also introduced to the Design Thinking process and self-directed learning as a guide in the process of project design and construction.

All schools and student mentors were given Arduino kits that were generously sponsored by the Sarawak Multimedia Authority (SMA), the Sarawak Ministry of Education, Science and Technological Research (MESTR) and TEGAS, under the sponsorship of Yayasan Sime Darby. In this competition, students identified a real problem that a person would face and designed a solution with social impact. Their solution must consist of an open-source microcontroller (e.g. Arduino) and developed with open-source software (e.g. App Inventor, IDE).

Twelve UCTS students participated in TTT and 22 schools sent their teachers-in-charge to form the teams of students as YIC participants as listed below:

  1. SMK Sacred Heart, Sibu
  2. SMK Lanang, Sibu
  3. SMK Methodist, Sibu
  4. SMK Kampung Nangka, Sibu
  5. SMK Rosli Dhoby, Sibu
  6. SMK St. Elizabeth, Sibu
  7. SMK Tiong Hin, Sibu
  8. Catholic High School, Sibu
  9. SMK Luar Bandar No.1 Sibu
  10. SMK Sibu Jaya, Sibu
  11. SMK St. Anthony, Sarikei
  12. SMK Bandar Sarikei, Sarikei
  13. SMK Tinggi Sarikei, Sarikei
  14. MRSM Betong
  15. SMK Kanowit
  16. SMK Datuk Haji Abdul Rahman Yaakub, Kanowit
  17. SMK Julau No. 2
  18. SMK Mukah
  19. SMK Kapit No. 2
  20. SMK Engkili
  21. MRSM Mukah
  22. KV Sibu

The Young Innovators Challenge (YIC) is much more than an innovation competition. It is a platform for secondary school students in Malaysia to learn, innovate, and implement their ideas in the community. This learning journey will not only inculcate their technical skills but also nurture their life skills. This year there were 292 video submissions, from a total of 165 schools all over Malaysia! Sarawak has the highest video submissions with a total of 96 teams, contributing 33% of all submissions! By putting the platform online, we have gathered the alumni of YIC, technical mentors, and industry experts for the students, no matter where they are in Malaysia.

Below are the selected 15 winning teams who made it to SDYIC 2020 National Camp:

State Team Name School Video
Johor Indahpura 1 SMK Indahpura(1) https://youtu.be/m1c-knVIHwc
Johor Safety Jacle SMK Permas Jaya https://youtu.be/POLJE-Yn9k0
Kelantan Brain Curcuit SMK Mulong https://youtu.be/vWdRYl5nqUU
Kelantan BRIGHTASTIC SMK Kubang Kerian https://youtu.be/DppdIikWB-Y
KL/Selangor Star T.E.K. SMK Aminuddin Baki https://youtu.be/CNqM0i1njBY
KL/Selangor LB Group SMK Kuala Kubu Bharu https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q__NOQEH5K0&feature=youtu.be
Melaka Metherling SMJK Pulau Sebang https://youtu.be/ygvfFbvhvm0
Negeri Sembilan ECO VALIANTS SMK KING GEORGE V https://youtu.be/544FU3ls7vc
Pulau Pinang TES V3.0 SMJK Jit Sin https://youtu.be/9n7u3zkJDFo
Perlis SMART NATURE SMK SANGLANG https://youtu.be/uze1cspAEaQ
Sabah Iris SM ST John Tuaran https://youtu.be/Aq1HV1e7C-s
Sabah Europa SMK BANDARAYA KOTA KINABALU https://youtu.be/friqiyeOavg
Sarawak Aztec SMK Merbau Miri https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFM2kfUqgNw
Sarawak J2 Team SMK Julau No.2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88X3OzEP7mU
Sarawak Team ACES SMK Tiong Hin https://youtu.be/dfoOkqSpAoc

In addition, the following teams won Special Awards as listed:

Special Awards State Team Name School Video
Most Innovative Idea Sarawak GREAT MATES TEAM SMK TRUSAN https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlhoEvTgV0U
The Best Community Impact Sarawak Team ACES SMK Tiong Hin https://youtu.be/dfoOkqSpAoc
The Best Communicator Perlis SMART NATURE SMK SANGLANG https://youtu.be/uze1cspAEaQ
The Best Overall Johor Safety Jacle SMK Permas Jaya https://youtu.be/POLJE-Yn9k0

Leave a Comment